European Parliament: European Union candidate countries have to respect the rights of LGBT people


On 10 February 2010, the European Parliament adopted the reports on the accession to the European Union for Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey during the plenary sessions in Strasbourg.

Source: European Parliament Intergroup on LGBT Right's

The three reports on candidate countries underlined the need to provide protection to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people, moreover they also reminded the candidate countries that the protection of all minorities is a non-negotiable condition to access the European Union.

Regarding the report on Serbia, the European Parliament expressed concerns about the ban on Belgrade Pride, and several calls on the Government to effectively implement and enforce protection against discrimination.

Importance in the report on the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia was put on the proposed new anti-discrimination legislation, which does not cover sexual orientation and gender identity.

Lastly, the report on Turkey points to the shortcomings of the Turkish penal code, allowing for the systematic persecution of LGBT minorities and the limitation of their freedom of assembly.

Read more about ILGA-Europe’s contribution to the European Commission’s progress reports here and our work the European Union Enlargement.

Share |

Stay informed
For media
You are here: Home > Guide to Europe > Country-by-country > Croatia > European Parliament: E...